The Saint-Cézaire cave was discovered in 1890 by a farmer who, whilst clearing one of his fields, came across a hole. On digging deeper, a gouffre became apparent… Stairs were built offering access to the public. In 1920, the cave was featured in the film « Phroso » by Charles Vanel, which greatly added to it’s renown. Powerful lighting was installed to better reveal the transparent beauty of the cristalisations. After a 6 year closure, the cave re-opened in 1946 and has since delighted the many visitors who have come to marvel at this unique site in the Alpes Maritimes.